Stephen Mougin releases debut project 'Ordinary Soul'

Article Contributed by Kimberly Dettw… | Published on Tuesday, September 8, 2020

Dark Shadow Recording Co-Founder, award-winning producer, and engineer, Stephen Mougin recently released his debut project Ordinary Soul on Friday, July 31, 2020.  The music is produced and engineered by Mougin from his studio just outside of Nashville.  Please find the release available HERE

Stephen, along with a collection of friends such as Sam Bush, Becky Buller, The Gibson Brothers, and many others, will take you to some poignant musical intersections while delivering slamming bluegrass tracks that will surely turn some heads.

Mougin offers: “It has been a real treat to put this project together. I’m very proud of the songs, the performances, and the album in general, and thankful to so many friends who contributed their talents. I hope that this project can give folks a little mental vacation during this very challenging time. Enjoy!”


“Stephen, first of all, let me say... Way to go Mojo!!! You really knocked this one out of the park. I thoroughly enjoyed this recording from the first note to the last.” --Ronnie Bowman

“Excellent songwriting, haunting melodies, exquisite harmonies, and world-class pickin’. What a great new record from brother Mojo! I can’t stop listening to it!” --Drew Emmitt (Leftover Salmon)

“Stephen Mougin’s new album is a breath of fresh cool air for these hot summer days. Great musicianship, songwriting, and singing. Stephen even let me sing harmony a bit. Thanks, Stephen.”  --Buddy Cannon - (Multi-Platinum winning Songwriter/Record Producer - Willie Nelson, Alison Krauss, Kenny Chesney, Merle Haggard, Reba McEntire)

“A solid collection of songs played with impeccable technique, verve, and ferocity!” --Laurie Lewis

“With his new album, Ordinary Soul, Stephen Mougin proves that not only is he a heck of a picker, singer and writer, he’s also an amazing engineer.  He collaborates with some of the finest musicians in the bluegrass scene today to create wonderfully rich tones that are a pleasure to my ear.  I recommend listening with headphones!” -- Adam Aijala (Yonder Mountain String Band)

“As Bluegrass Music continues to grow in popularity, and much of the focus is on younger bands with alternative aesthetics, the more traditional end of the spectrum continues a very meaningful evolution as well. Stephen Mougin’s powerful new solo release, Ordinary Soul, is strong evidence of that pattern, and a strong statement from a prominent voice in Bluegrass for over 20 years. Mojo (a fitting nickname!) took a big step forward when he joined forces with acoustic titan Sam Bush in 2006, but he’s much more than a sideman. He’s a producer, engineer, mentor, and an excellent writer, player, and singer. His new record has all the ingredients of high-quality Bluegrass: expertly crafted original songs, virtuoso musicianship from an all-star cast of pickers, and most importantly, soul. From the modern sounds of "New Beginnings" and "Handful of Dust" to the feel-good vibes of "Railroad Man" (feat. Sam Bush himself), and the powerful songwriting behind “Song That I Call Home” and “On the Riverside”, this album has something for acoustic fans of all stripes. Ordinary Soul is a standout modern Bluegrass record from a great player who we mostly see as a sideman. But Stephen Mougin is much more than that, and this new album proves it. Check it out, you won’t be disappointed!” --Chris Pandolfi (The Infamous Stringdusters)

“Stephen has always been an influence on me. Such a strong rhythm player, soloist, singer, and writer. This album is nothing short of his strengths. I hear his inspiration drawing from so many different musical backgrounds and it’s just a great record!” --Dave Bruzza (Greensky Bluegrass)

Musician Listing for Ordinary Soul

Sam Bush, The Gibson Brothers, Buddy Cannon, Melonie Cannon, Becky Buller, Ned Luberecki, Alan Bartram, Rick Faris, Chris Brown, Todd Parks, Laura Orshaw, Mike Bub,  Cory Piatt, and Jana Mougin

Track Listing for Ordinary Soul  

July 31, 2020

* produced and engineered by Stephen Mougin

·         “New Beginnings” (Stephen Mougin, Kelly Riggins)

·         “Color Me Lonely” (Stephen Mougin, Jon Weisberger)

·         “The Song That I Call Home” (Stephen Mougin, Erin McDermott)

·         “Railroad Man” (Stephen Mougin, Becky Buller)

·         “A Place For A Fool” (Stephen Mougin, Eric Gibson, Leigh Gibson)

·         “On The Riverside” (Stephen Mougin, Kristi Cox, Lachlan Davidson)

·         “Play Me A Sad Song Again” (Stephen Mougin, Vida Wakeman)

·         “Last Time For Everything” (Stephen Mougin, Jon Weisberger)

·         “Only You And You Alone” (Robert J. Wooten)

·         “Handful Of Dust “(Becky Buller)

·         “You Only Like Old Things” (Stephen Mougin, Beth Wood)

·         “I’m Gonna Ride” (Stephen Mougin, Rick Lang)