Poetica Releases Lyric Video for New Single “Magenta and Blue”

Article Contributed by Missing Piece Group | Published on Friday, September 24, 2021

Poetica has released a lyric video for “Magenta and Blue,” the third single from their debut self-titled album (out October 22nd via MPress Records). What began as a remote duo collaboration between poet/vocalist/producer Rachael Sage and three-time Grammy nominated cellist Dave Eggar, Poetica eventually evolved into a full-blown spoken word concept album, with musicians contributing from around the globe. “Magenta and Blue” is a string-laden soundscape that blurs the lines between classical, Americana, jazz and cinematic music genres. Sage and Eggar recorded the song with Appalachian folk fiddler Evie Andrus.

Watch the Lyric Video for “Magenta and Blue”

“‘Magenta and Blue’ puts words and music to the moment when love becomes ego-less, where walls come down completely, and honesty and acceptance are givens,” Sage told Parade. “The piece captures a peaceful, uplifted place where each person is embraced by the other with an expressiveness akin to the watercolor painting process, where colors and lines blur into something dreamlike, becoming more beautiful in the process.”

Cinematic and stylistically expansive, Poetica is a creatively ambitious musical spoken word project distilling a poetic spirit through text, voice and music in the spirit of Leonard Cohen, Patti Smith and Laurie Anderson. Adventurous yet familiar in its intimacy, Sage's voice is perfectly at home in the absence of typical song structure, while her musical arrangements fuse elements of jazz, classical, and Appalachian folk with surprising agility. Only rarely does Sage enlist her more widely-known singing voice to punctuate these recordings, from which her signature piano playing is notably – and intentionally – absent.

Watch the Poetica Album Trailer

Additional contributors to Poetica include renowned klezmer clarinetist David Krakauer, jazz trumpet player Russ Johnson (Elvis Costello), violinist Kelly Halloran (Michael Franti), guitarist James Mastro (Patti Smith), and drummers Doug Yowell (Suzanne Vega) and Quinn (Janelle Monáe).

1. Unconditional
2. Beginning
3. Powder
4. Passenger
5. Magenta and Blue
6. Lower East Side Baby
7. Lamentation
8. Handwriting
9. Days of Awe
10. Winemaker
11. Sleep When I'm Tired
12. Butterflies
13. How Songs Are Born
14. engagement
15. Pulpit
16. Thanksgiving
17. Swing Dance
18. untitled
19. a father's nachus (Bonus Track)

Poetica Tour Dates:
9/30 - New York, NY - Rockwood Music Hall Stage 3 (album release show)
10/2 - Beacon, NY - Towne Crier Cafe
10/13 - Spring Lake, MI - Seven Steps Up
10/14 - Chicago, IL - Uncommon Ground Lakeview
10/23 - Charlottesville, VA - The Garage
10/26 -  Knoxville, TN - WDVX Blue Plate Special
10/28 - Nashville, TN - Cabana
10/29 - Duluth, GA - Red Clay Music Foundry
11/9 - New York, NY - The Loft At City Winery