Tab Benoit Tour Kicks Off April 29 at Grand Opera House of the South

Article Contributed by Doug Deutsch | Published on Monday, April 12, 2021

Renowned Blues guitarist Tab Benoit embarks on a year-long National tour, which kicks off at the Grand Opera House Of The South, 505 N. Parkerson Ave., Thursday, April 29. Showtime: 7pm. Tickets: $30.-$40. Info: (337) 785-0440 or visit https://www.thegrandoperahouse.org.  Opening for Benoit is Whiskey Bayou Records recording artist, Josh Garrett.

The Louisiana-based guitarist just concluded six big shows that Tab co-headlined with another blues guitarist at the top of her game, Samantha Fish. Benoit and Fish also teamed last November at Nashville's famed Ryman Auditorium for a concert live streamed worldwide. "This is an artist whose playing speaks to you as much as his lyrics do," wrote Music Connection magazine, reviewing Benoit's Ryman show set. "What Tab lacked in theatrics he made up for with a warm and disarming stage presence and heartfelt playing."

Benoit was selected a "30 Best Blues Guitarist In The World Today" by Guitar World  in 2020 and also co-authored recently-released book, Blues Therapy, about the blues and mental illness.

Benoit, who's always been known for his environmental activism, performed two nights in his hometown of Houma at the 16th Annual Voice of the Wetlands Festival.  He also appears prominently in the IMax motion picture Hurricane on the Bayou, a documentary of Hurricane Katrina's effects and a call to protect and restore the Wetlands, and produced a CD to help restore that state's Coastal Wetlands. Benoit was inducted into the Louisiana Folklife Center Hall of Master Folk Artists in the Spring of 2020.

The Louisiana musician has launched his own imprint, Whiskey Bayou Records, with partner and manager, Rueben Williams. The label has thus far released albums by such established artists as Eric McFadden, JP Soars, Alastair Greene, Damon Fowler, Eric Johanson, Jeff McCarty, and Dash Rip Rock.

TAB BENOIT ON TOUR!  SPRING/SUMMER 2021 ITINERARY

Apr. 29 (Thur)   GRAND OPERA HOUSE OF THE SOUTH   Crowley LA

Apr. 30 (Fri)       SOUL KITCHEN MUSIC HALL                    Mobile AL

May 1 (Sat)        THE MOON                                              Tallahassee FL

May 3 (Mon)      THE FUNKY BISCUIT                                 Boca Raton FL

May 4 (Tues)      THE FUNKY BISCUIT                                 Boca Raton FL

May 5 (Wed)      KING CENTER FOR PERFORMING ARTS      Melbourne FL

May 6 (Thur)     THE WHARF                                              Kissimmee FL

May 8 (Sat)       CAPITOL THEATER                                    Clearwater FL

May 27 (Thur)   THE TRALF                                               Buffalo NY

May 28 (Fri.)      ROBINS THEATER                                     Warren OH

May 29 (Sat.)     TOKEN LOUNGE                                       Westfield MI

May 30 (Sun)     WOODLANDS TAVERN                              Columbus OH

June 2 (Wed)      MOONTOWN BREWING COMPANY            Whitestown IN

June 3 (Thur)     THE ACORN                                             Three Oaks MI

June 6 (Sun)       CITY WINERY                                           Chicago IL

June 7 (Mon)      CITY WINERY                                           Chicago IL

June 8 (Tues)     CITY WINERY                                           Chicago IL

June 10 (Thur)   THE SLOWDOWN                                      Omaha NB

June 11 (Fri)      KNUCKLEHEADS SALOON                          Kansas City MO

June 12 (Sat)     COTILLION BALLROOM                              Wichita KS

June 13 (Sun)    TOWER THEATER                                      Oklahoma City 

June 26 (Sat)     FIRST FINANCIAL MUSIC HALL                  El Dorado, AR

June 30 (Wed)    STARGAZERS THEATER                            Colorado Springs

July 3 (Sat)         AVON PERFORMANCE PAVILION            Avon CO

July 4 (Sun)        MESA THEATER                                       Grand JunctionCO

July 23 (Fri)        THE 04 CENTER                                      Austin TX

July 24 (Sat)       THE HEIGHTS THEATER                           Houston TX

Aug 7 (Sat)         THREE CAVES                                         Huntsville AL

Aug 12 (Thur)     RHYTHM CITY CASINO RESORT              Davenport, IA

Aug 14 (Sat)       BAYFRONT BLUES FESTIVAL                    Duluth, MN

Aug 19 (Thur)     RIVER CITY CASINO                                St. Louis, MO

Aug 22 (Sun)       THE KENT STAGE                                   Kent, OH

Aug 24 (Tues)      BEACHLAND BALLROOM                       Cleveland OH

Aug 25 (Wed)       JERGELS RHYTHM GRILLE                      Warrendale, PA

Aug 26 (Thur)      LEESBURG THEATER                              Leesburg VA

Sept 14 (Tues)      RHYTHM ROOM                                   Phoenix AZ

Sept 15 (Wed)       RHYTHM ROOM                                   Phoenix AZ

Sept 16 (Thur)       BELLY UP TAVERN                               Solana Beach CA

Oct 19 (Tues)        RAMS HEAD ON STAGE                       Annapolis MD

Oct 20 (Wed)         RAMS HEAD ON STAGE                        Annapolis MD

Oct 21 (Thur)        THE BIRCHMERE                                  Alexandria VA

Oct 22 (Fri)           ELEVATION 27                                    Virginia Bch VA

Oct 24 (Sun)         PARAMOUNT BRISTOL                          Bristol TN

Oct 26 (Tues)       SELLERSVILLE THEATER                        Sellersville PA

Oct 28 (Thur)        COHOES MUSIC HALL                          Cohoes PA

Oct 29 (Fri)           INFINITY MUSIC HALL                          Hartford CT

Oct 30 (Sat)          CENTER FOR THE ARTS                        Natick MA

Nov 2 (Tues)         CITY WINERY                                       Boston MA

Nov 3 (Wed)          BULL RUN                                           Shirley MA

Nov 4 (Thur)         SPIRE CENTER/PERFORMING ARTS       Plymouth MA

Nov 14 (Sun)         TAFT THEATER                                   Cincinnati OH

*Direct Support for Tab Benoit: Josh Garrett (April 29-May 8); Alastair Greene (May 27-June 13). Both Garrett and Greene are Whiskey Bayou Records Recording Artists.

Topics