Sweetwater Welcomes Back George Porter Jr. for the Grand Reopening

Article Contributed by gratefulweb | Published on Thursday, July 15, 2021

Internationally renowned CA music venue Sweetwater Music Hall is set to reopen their doors after COVID shut them in 2020. The reopening also signals the relaunch of the iconic venue featuring the new restaurant, The Rock & Rye and improvements to seating, sound and other aspects as well as an updated website in Summer 2021 after being closed for over a year.

In celebration of the September 3rd grand reopening, Sweetwater Music Hall welcomes back, George Porter Jr.

George says, “I am so looking forward to returning with my Runnin’ Pardners to such a great venue as The Sweetwater Music Hall for their reopening this September.”

Part owner of Sweetwater Music Hall, and iconic Grateful Dead founding member Bob Weir says, “Holy shit! Sweetwater is reopening - been way too long! I can’t wait to light the place up again!”

In its nearly 50-year history Sweetwater has featured some of the most prominent artists in rock and blues. Located just a few miles outside of San Francisco, the venue has been a popular stop for many musicians such as: Bob Weir, Bonnie Raitt, Aaron Neville, Big Mama Thornton, Carlos Santana, Clarence Clemons, Elvis Costello, Etta James, Gregg Allman, Huey Lewis, Jerry Garcia, John Hiatt, John Lee Hooker, Maria Muldaur, Mimi Fariña, Odetta, Ramblin’ Jack Elliott, Richie Havens, Robert Cray, Sammy Hagar, Townes Van Zandt, Van Morrison and many more.

Newly minted General Manager for Sweetwater Music Hall, Maria Hoppe says, “It is an honor to lead the reopening of this iconic and storied venue. Some of music’s most historic live moments happened here. As we welcome George Porter Jr, we also look forward to welcoming back a host of other performers as the months roll on!”

After surviving the COVID-19 pandemic, Sweetwater has announced multiple performances for late Summer 2021 into the Fall, including two nights with David Grisman, and will continue to run at full capacity. Show dates and performers listed below.

The newly redesigned restaurant The Rock & Rye houses an expansive remodeled and weatherproofed 50-seat outdoor patio and 18-seat indoor classic café adjacent to the iconic 300-capacity North Bay music venue.

In 2007, Sweetwater closed its doors. Five years later, the venue reopened a couple of blocks away as the Sweetwater Music Hall enjoying even more success and creating music history.

This reincarnation holds true to the heart of the old days, and aims to feed the soul with music, community, and excellent food.

SWEETWATER MUSIC HALL SHOWS 2021

Fri Sept 3 - George Porter Jr. & Friends w/ Runnin' Pardners

Sat Sept 4 - George Porter Jr. & Friends w/ Runnin' Pardners

Wed Sept 8 - Natalie Cressman

Thu Sept 9 - Koolerator ft. Barry Sless

Fri Sept 10 - The 559 w/ Tim Hockenberry, Michael Landau, Gary Novak & Special Guests

Sun Sept 12 - Jackie Venson

Tues Sept 14 - Open Mic w/ Austin DeLone

Thur Sept 16 - Maggie Rose

Fri Sept 17 - Petty Theft

Sat Sept 18 - Petty Theft

Sun Sept 19 - Amendola vs. Blades vs. Skerik vs. Parker

Wed Sept 22 - Girl Friday & Cryogeyser

Thu Sept 23 - Jazz Mafia's Grateful Brass

Fri Sept 24 - Collectivity Revamps Hendrix feat. Viveca Hawkins

Sat Sept 25 - The Nth Power

Sun Sept 26 - Hellman Summer Stomp

Tue Sept 28 - Open Mic w/ Austin Delone

Wed Sept 29 - The Skatalites

Fri Oct 1 - Mustache Harbor

Thu Oct 7 - Lilan Kane w/ Olivia Rose

Sat Oct 9 - ILLEAGLES

Tue Oct 12 - Open Mic w/ Austin DeLone

Thu Oct 14 - King Dream & Kelly McFarling

Fri Oct 22 - Jerry's Middle Finger

Sat Oct 23 - Zepparella

Sun Oct 24 - Zepparella

Tue Oct 26 - Open Mic w/ Austin DeLone

Wed Oct 27 - Thunderstorm Artis

Fri Oct 29 - Bayonics

Sat Oct 30 - Soul Ska feat. Angelo Moore

Sun Oct 31 - The Mother Hips

Fri Nov 5 - Super Diamond

Fri Nov 12 - David Grisman (2 shows)

Wed Nov 24 - Vinyl