The Nth Power: New Single, Video, Tour, Album

Article Contributed by Victoria Karol | Published on Saturday, January 27, 2018

New York City-based soul/rock/funk group The Nth Power - drummer Nikki Glaspie, guitar player Nick Cassarino and bassist Nate Edgar - are entering a new phase of their careers. In 2017 The Nth Power decided to transition to a guitar/bass/drums trio as the group focuses in on refining their signature sound. Since then, Glaspie, Cassarino and Edgar have infused their funk aesthetic with a little bit of disco, some deep soul, and a lot of intense political energy and tight old school rock and roll.

The band will release their new video for the single “Truth,” on January 29th. “Truth” is the first song from their upcoming album out this spring, and the video tells the story of our world’s crushing paranoia and isolation through the lens of a conspiracy theorist holed away in his apartment, sending secret messages through the cracks in the door. Savage and furious, the message in “Truth” is clear, it’s right there in the headline: FUCK TRUMP.

Along with the release of “Truth,” The Nth Power are going out on a west coast tour to promote their upcoming album in February, with dates in cities stretching from Colorado to California. Currently in the studio at Chillhouse in Cambridge MA, the band’s new record will show off the newly minted trio’s fresh new sound, with the familiarities of old school bands like Earth, Wind & Fire, Chic and even early Daft Punk, while leaning heavily into the shreddy, funky sounds the Nth Power is known for.

And if you aren’t familiar with Glaspie’s chops as a drummer yet, you won’t have to leave the house to hear her play live next week. It’s cold out! Grab your snuggie and turn on Late Night with Seth Meyers January 29th through February 1st to see Glaspie sitting in as the guest drummer with Seth’s house band, The 8G Band.